International Women’s Day 2024

“Some of us are becoming the men we wanted to marry.” –Gloria Steinem

I’m a mother to five children, and two cats. My son is the only male. To say there is a very strong female vibe in my house is an understatement. My son, Jacob is a wonderful partner to his girlfriend, probably because of this (well, not because of the cats). He was brought up in an environment where we rejoiced in all competencies, nurtured creativity and the sky was the limit in terms of what they could achieve and dream. All equals. Zero sexism (once my ex left), and everyone was free to be their authentic selves with no boundaries or projected gender assumptions. It was hard fought but immensely worth it.

And of course, I’ve brought up my children, all of them, as feminists, because it makes sense. When women are supported and valued the world is a better place. Once women are happy and know their worth there’s a knock on effect that filters down and creates positive change for all.

After all, we’re the gatekeepers, the dreamers with the ‘roll up your sleeves’ mentality. We have the ability to create life should we wish. We were born of goddesses, strong, powerful, and our cycles are ruled by the moon. Once we were revered, priestesses, herbalists. All powerful, knowledgeable. But because of our power, our very difference from the archetypal male, we bore the brunt of jealousy/ fear of our power and abilities.

Times are better, for lots of us, not all of us, we still have a ways to go, but we’re all survivors who would lay down our lives for our children, our loved ones. Essential and unyielding, like the beautifully twisted trees in the wilds of Connemara. Resilient.

Wishing you all a wonderful International Women’s Day 2024.

Go on, buy the flowers.

Published by fionacooke

Writer and Poet living in beautiful Laois, Ireland. I have recently published a book on Amazon for Kindle called The Lights Went Out and Other Stories; a collection of flash, short and longer fiction consisting of humerous, poignant and supernatural tales. I am currently editing a novel - Martha's Cottage and writing a second novel, a horror, as yet untitled When not scribbling or with my head in a book I am addicted to GoT and the Walking Dead. My ambition in life (apart from somehow getting everyone in the known universe to read my books) is to play a zombie in a George A Romero production.

One thought on “International Women’s Day 2024

Leave a comment